Black Queer Creative

Hello World, I think it’s time to reintroduce myself. My name is Aurea Fae and I am an African-American, Bisexual, Writer, Poet, and an Artist. It has taken me far too long to realize what I was born to do. Things got in the way, distracted me, held me down and I just let it happen. But not anymore.

For years I have been battling Depression and Anxiety “alone.” For years I allowed them to hold me back from achieving anything I want in my life. I kept it all inside and that has to come to a stop now. For years I let them talk me out of even trying something new. But not anymore.

All my life I lied to my parents out of fear they wouldn’t be proud of me. Or fear that I would disappoint them by not doing what they want me to do. By not being the daughter they wanted me to be. I have kept too many secrets from them. For fear that they wouldn’t even care or wouldn’t believe me. But not anymore.

For far too long I have been dishonest with myself. Listening to self-doubts. Believing that I have no purpose in life. And settling for whatever I can get. But not anymore.

Today is the day where everything changes. My mindset, my goals, my plans. Everything. I understand it won’t happen overnight. I will continue my battle Depression and Anxiety. I will get frustrated with my parents when I try to explain to them Who I am, What I want to do in life and How I need them to help me. I will have to face my fears head on. I will struggle to trust myself and my strength. I will have to find my voice and shout.

I will fall many times. I will get back up, dust myself off and keep moving forward out of this long dark tunnel.

Leave a Reply

