You don’t know everything

My dad has this idea that all depressed people do it sit in a corner with a dark cloud around them sulking about themselves all day. I was still sleeping when he yelled “how can you be depressed? You went out and did stuff yesterday!” Waking me up around noon. Yeah, he yelled at me. Like I’m a child who just lied to him.

I was still sleeping when I responded: “it’s a chemical imbalance in the brain.” That only made him angrier. Apparently, I was being a smart ass by giving him the dictionary answer. He was asking about me right now. How do I feel right now?

“I’m just waking up” I respond, why is he’s so upset? “I don’t know how I feel right now because I haven’t even woken up yet.” I sit up and stare at him confused as to why he’s bringing this up now.

He then goes on to tell me that I am not depressed.

I was hoping this was a bad dream. But no. This is my life. I live with someone who thinks they know everything about everyone based off what he sees on the surface. He doesn’t ask questions to get a better understanding. He doesn’t even listen. He just talks and talks and talks until you agree with him.

Just to get him to shut up, I agreed with him.

This isn’t what happened word for word. I had to sit and think about things. As well as rub the confusion from my eyes. It feels like a dream. I wish it was. How am I supposed to explain this to him? Should I even try?

Leave a Reply

